Sticking to a gluten-free diet is no easy task. With all of the food restrictions, and temptations, sometimes it can seem a bit overwhelming. There are many that need to follow a strict gluten-free diet, and those who choose to. Whatever the reason, and no matter how disciplined you may be, without proper knowledge, transgression may be imminent. Besides doing the research on what foods are gluten-free, you should also know that some foods are unexpected sources of gluten. Furthermore, to deal with those sneaky foods, many of those foods have gluten-free options. For example, most breads contain gluten, but that does not mean that there are no gluten-free bread options! Gluten can be sneaky, and hide in foods that you would never expect. Let’s check out a few.
Oats: I know what you may be thinking; this does not make sense because oats are naturally gluten-free. While that actually is true, during the processing of oats, there is a lot of cross-contamination with wheat and/or rye that is also processed in the factory. Luckily, there are gluten-free oats!
Condiments: You may be doing a great job sticking to gluten-free foods, only to ruin it by spreading condiments laden with gluten all over your otherwise gluten-free food. As a general rule, since gluten is often used as a thickener, stay away from ‘thick’ condiments such as barbeque sauce, marinades, tomato paste and pasta sauces. Also add soups and other sauces, such as soy sauce, to the list due to the thickening properties of gluten.
Licorice: Surprisingly, both red and black licorices contain wheat! Fortunately, they do sell gluten-free brands of licorice; you just have to do a little searching!
Processed Meat Products: Sausages, hot dogs, and deli meats (especially pre-packaged), often contain gluten used for texture purposes. Also, be weary of BBQ chicken (the barbecue sauce), or teriyaki style meats!
Next time you want to shout out, “gluten-free since ’93,” you better make sure you’re not accidentally ingesting your vice every day! And for those who can’t consume gluten, we certainly hope this helps. And don’t forget, although energy drinks can often contain gluten, Phix is gluten-free!
Happy, healthy, and safe eating to all,Your friends at Phix